Arabic Portuguese English French Portuguese


Title: Preparing the Health Workforce to engage with communities

Join Us for The AFREhealth/ACHEST Webinar.

Introduction/Objectives: Community engagement refers to public participation, consultation and stakeholder engagement. The Community Engagement Framework is grounded in four pillars: People, Practice, Policy and Performance. Therefore, for the health workforce to be prepared to engage with the community, these principles must be considered. This starts with the way they are trained. They need to be exposed to the communities they will serve early in their career. They need to be trained in such a manner that leads them to appreciate the link between disease and the way in which people live in their communities so as to provide, maintain and improve the health and wellbeing of the population. This should be reflected not only in education but in service and research. This webinar is intended to help us reflect on this. How do we train, recruit and retain a health workforce that understands and cares for the community?

Duration: 1.5 Hours

Date: Wednesday 23 June, 2021
Time: 9:00 AM (US Eastern Time), 1:00 PM (GMT), 2:00 PM (WAST), 3:00 PM (CAT, SAST), 4:00 PM (EAT)

Title: Translational Science in Health Professions Education: Approaches to effective Implementation

Join Us for The AFREhealth Webinar by the Health Professions Education Research Technical Working Group (TWG)

Introduction: There is a growing evidence base in HPE across the globe. This evidence is both from high income and low-income contexts. High-stakes decisions such as selection, assessment, and licensure demand an evidence-informed approach to HPE. Knowledge translation aims to promote the uptake and application of research evidence to improve educational practices and ultimately patient care. Efforts to inform and improve HPE should be underpinned by the science (theories, models, methods) of knowledge translation, also known as implementation science. There is urgent need in sub-Saharan Africa to operationalize current evidence into our teaching and learning activities. By the end of this webinar, participants shall have understood the importance of translating HPE scholarship into educational practice.

Duration: 1 Hour

Date: Wednesday 30th June 2021
Time: 8:00 AM US EASTERN TIME 12:00 PM GMT, 1:00 PM WAST; 2:00 PM CAT, SAST; 3:00 PM EAT;

About us

The African Forum for Research and Education in Health (AFREhealth) is an interprofessional health grouping that seeks to work all stakeholders interested in health profession education , research and service delivery to improve the quality of health care in Africa through research, education and capacity building. It is a conglomerate of individuals, institutions, associations and networks from all the geographic and linguistic regions of Africa namely Anglophone, Francophone, Lusophone and Arabophone. Read More...

Contact Us

Phone:
Mobile (Whatsapp): +233 50 835 1306 
Office: +233 32 249 6882

Email:
info@afrehealth.org

Location:
School of Public Health
College of Health Sciences
Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Kumasi, Ghana

Like & Follow Us